Bulosan, Carlos (Author) & Anderson, Benedict (Contributor). ALL THE CONSPIRATORS. Seattle, Washington: University Of Washington Press, 2005. Softcover. First Edition/First Printing. 165 pages. As New.

The author's lost masterpiece. One of the most important novels of immigrant-American literature. The First Edition. Precedes and should not be confused with all other subsequent editions. Published in a very small and limited first print run as a softcover original only. Presents Carlos Bulosan's "All The Conspirators". "In this mystery thriller set at the end of World War II, American Gar Stanley returns to his native Philippines to help his childhood sweetheart locate her missing husband in the wake of a Japanese ambush. With Clem's ring as his only clue, Gar moves from the nightclubs of Manila to the mountains of Baguio, from mansions to hovels, bordellos to churches. He pursues and is pursued by bankers, matrons, hobos, warriors, and thugs. Gar quickly realizes that no one is who they seem in this war-ravaged country. He must move quickly to stay ahead of the deadly conspirators before they silence his friend. Bulosan's purposely mysterious authorship is illuminated in the thought-provoking introduction by Caroline S. Hau and Benedict Anderson. The short story, 'The Filipino Houseboy', also included in this volume, helps to establish Bulosan as the author of 'All the Conspirators' " (Publisher's blurb). Long-lost and very nearly forgotten, it is restored in this meticulous edition. An absolute "must-have" title for Carlos Bulosan and immigrant-American literature collectors. This title is now collectible. This is one of relatively few copies of the First Edition/First Printing still available online and is in especially fine condition: Clean, crisp, and bright, a pristine beauty. A scarce copy thus. One of the iconic and pioneering immigrant-American writers of the 20th century. A fine copy. . ISBN 029598497X. $20.00

This item is available for purchase. This web page was most recently updated on October 18, 2017.