Moshfegh, Ottessa. MY YEAR OF REST AND RELAXATION. New York City, NY: Penguin Press, 2018. Hardcover. First Edition/First Printing. 290 pages. Fine/Fine.

The author's second novel. One of Ottessa Moshfegh's finest achievements. The First Hardcover Edition. Precedes and should not be confused with all other subsequent editions, particularly copies that are signed on a tipped-in page. Published in a small and limited first print run as a hardcover original only that sold out shortly after publication. The First Edition is now scarce. Presents Ottessa Moshfegh's "My Year of Rest And Relaxation". The contemporary American "Oblomov", about a young woman who takes a year off to do nothing in particular because she can, and because inertia can be useful, meaningful, and liberating. While not evident at first and despite the disparity in wealth and privilege, Moshfegh's anonymous heroine is the same as ALL of her other characters, typically described as Bukowski-type quitters, drifters, and losers. "Moshfegh is the kind of writer who makes one reach back to her perceived antecedents: "Our Flannery O'Connor" (Publisher's blurb). "Creepy, mesmerizing, and sublimely funny, in the tradition of Shirley Jackson and Vladimir Nabokov" (John Burnside). It is deeply flattering for any author to be compared to and "classed" with the Masters. It is also a sure sign of outstanding, original talent and achievement. An absolute "must-have" title for Ottessa Moshfegh collectors. This copy is very boldly and beautifully signed, placed, and dated (shortly after publication) in black pen-marker on the title page by the author: "Ottessa Moshfegh July 31, 2018 NYC". It is signed directly on the page itself, not on a tipped-in page. This title is a contemporary classic. This is one of few such signed, placed, and post-publication dated copies of the First Hardcover Edition/First Printing still available online and is in especially fine condition: Clean, crisp, and bright, a pristine beauty. A rare signed copy thus. Winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award in 2015 and Finalist of the Booker Prize in 2016 for "Eileen". One of the most brilliant writers of our time. A fine copy. (SEE ALSO OTHER OTTESSA MOSHFEGH TITLES IN OUR CATALOG). ISBN 0525522115. $50.00

This item is available for purchase. This web page was most recently updated on October 19, 2019.